Quidquid latine dictum sit, altum sonatur: The Latin language, self-education continues and the daily this-and-that.

A few days ago, Pendragon Theater, a company out of Saranac Lake, NY performed Constance Congdon’s adaptation of Moliere’s Imaginary Invalid. The play ends when the title character realizes he can become a doctor himself through ceremonial Latin. As one who has believed, Quidquid latine dictum sit, altum sonatur ever since I saw it in an email signature, I truly enjoyed the long ceremonial “Latin” chanted at the end of the play. It was a stringing together of Latin, non-latin, and even pig-latin. All I could remember from the chanting was, “Honi soit qui mal y pense, omnia Gallia in tres partes divisa est” and a few odd phrases “de gustibus non disputandum est” and “habeas corpus.

As I pretend to re-educate myself, my old habits of combining procrastination with distraction continue. Fortunately, I have no deadlines to meet or requirements to fulfill; the only thing requiring and stick-to-it-tiveness and discipline, is the Trackmaster Application Development Contest I entered. I found out most interesting things about lectures online. UC Berkeley’s Computer Science 61A, can be downloaded/watched online in two ways. Through iTunes you get a video of the lecture. Through clicking on the video choice for a class at Berekely Webcasts Website you get a RealAudio presentation linking the video with a slide presentation in the RealPlayer web browser. The iPhone Application Development Course from Stanford gives you the lectures with the slides as a separate pdf file, that you can use with the lecture or later for review . I’m seeing R used everyplace; so now I’m following both the UCB Epidemology course and their Intro Statistics course. I even started reading Dalgaard’s Introductory Statistics with R. I always liked math, except for the calculation part which is boring; the logic, proofs, algorithms, and philosophical foundations is fun. Now the boring part is totally done by machines and the net.

This entry was posted in Libraries, self-education on the net. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

